Waterpark Rugby Football Club

Founded 1925

News Articles from Waterpark RFC

J2 Munster Final

J2 Cup Final
Waterpark 7- 37 Old Christians

Waterpark were well beaten by Old Christians in the J2 South Munster Cup final last Sunday in Musgrave Park. In fairness to the Cork side they played with a good structure with their forward pack very well drilled and an outhalf who controlled the game.

Waterpark lost the toss and played with a very strong wind at their backs in the first half. The plan was to use the elements to pin Old Christians in their half but this never materialised. Waterpark let the occasion get the better of them and played into the hands of the opposition with a number of the players making solo breaks when using the boot to gain field position would have been better advised.

The first try of the game came from a neat back move from the Christians backline that allowed their winger Brefni O''Callaghan to score, they repeated the same move shortly after and this time their full back Paudie Sheehan scored to give them a 12 point lead playing into the wind.

Waterpark never settled and continued to make individual errors but finally created a penalty opportunity that went wide from outhalf Richard Halley. To rub salt into the wounds Old Christians crashed over for another try from James Caples on the stroke of half time to give them a 17-point lead.

From the restart Waterpark were under pressure which led to another 3 points, this time from outhalf David Scannell who dropped a goal, 20 points to nil. Wing forward Dave Lattimer finally scored a try for Waterpark about 20mins into the second half, but that was as good as it got. Old Christians scoring another 17 points from Stephen Twohig, Darragh Daly and Gavin Tobin to seal the Cup win.

A very disappointing day when every thing that could go wrong did. This team played some great rugby in the earlier rounds of this competition and taking some notable scalps on the way but the final was a game too far. Dave Lattimre, Darragh Joyce, Ben Cross and Tom Keisery were best for Waterpark.

The squad for the day was: Paddy Queally, Ben Cross, PJ Kinsella, Collie Walsh, Darragh Joyce, Mick McCarthy, Damien O''Dwyer, Andrew Moore, Vinny Molloy, Richard Halley, Dave Fitzgerald, Jerry Millar, Dave Hughes, Irvine Lane, Tom Kersey, Nick Murphy, Dave Lattimre, Conor McCarthy, Geoff Deegan, Ivan Kersey, Jeff Power and Joe Widger.