Waterpark Rugby Football Club

Founded 1925

News Articles from Waterpark RFC

U16 Munster Champions U18 East Munster Cup Winners

Young Munster 14 -Waterpark 17

Waterpark retained their Munster under 16 titles with a trilling win over Young Munster in Thomond Park last Sunday. The game was in the balance right up to the full-time whistle when centre Gary Healy stole the ball from the Young Munster centre and raced from the halfway line to score under the post to give Waterpark a famous victory.

The first half was a very tight affair with both side strong on defence, Waterpark made four telling breaks in the half but could not capitalise on these opportunities. Young Munster pounded the Waterpark line in the final five minutes of the half and eventually scored with a well taken try from their centre which was converted by the out half.

The second half began in great fashion for the Ballinakill side when second row Harry Donnelly crashed over following a lineout in Young Munster 22. From the line out Waterpark secured possession and moved the ball wide and from the next phase Donnelly was on hand to bulldoze over the line. Glen Kavanagh hit the post with conversion which went wide. Munster’s hit back when some poor tackling from the Waterpark back line gave them the break they need to increase their line to 14 -5.

At this stage Waterpark looked in trouble but Alex Deegan scored a great try to put this side back in the game. With only one score between the teams, the match was very tense for both sides and their supporters. Munster won a kickable penalty but chose to kick for the corner; Waterpark stole their lineout and cleared their lines. With time running out the title looked to be heading to Tom Clifford Park but Waterpark were not done yet. With Munster’s in possession of the ball Waterpark rushed out of defence to apply pressure, Gary Healy was on hand to take the ball for the Munster’s player and score a try to make his side the Munster champions for 2014/2015.


Squad: Conor O’Brien, Sam Keating, Gary Healy, Glen Kavanagh, Stephen Jones, Nick O’Donoghue, Eugene Smyth, Tadhg Foley, Sam Hogan, Brian Walsh, Dion Ryan, Harry Donnelly, Dylan Redmond, Cormac Condren, Alex Deegan, Craig Johnston, John Monaghan, Jack Kelly, Fionn Breathnacht, Daire Hocter, Darragh Dawson, Colm Freeman –Smith , Shay White.
Lots of fantastic photos on Lisa Walsh Photography

East Munster Under 18’s Cup Final

Waterpark RFC U18 East Munster Champions

Cashel Nil Waterpark 29

Waterpark claimed the East Munster Cup on Friday night in Clanwilliam and therefore completed the league and cup double. Waterpark played with the elements in the first half and took a 7 point advantage at the break. The score came from Alex Molloy when he took a great line off a pass from centre partner James Keirsey.

In the second half Waterpark kept the ball and played more structured rugby into the wind. This led to some excellent play and some great team tries. The Ballinakill side went onto score 4 more tries from winger Stephen Breen, Full back Eoin McGrath (2) pictured below and Molloy got his second try of the game. McGrath landed one conversion.